My Scrapbooking Story

I am a scrapbooker.

I absolutely love this hobby. I do make the odd card and off the page project, but really I am a through and through traditional layout girl. 12×12″ is my preferred size, but I do make mini books too.

SAM_3494
Layout using Crate Paper’s ‘Wonder’ collection.

There are scrapbookers around where I live, however, I don’t go to any crops and there aren’t many places to shop. I love being a part of the online community of scrapbooking. I love posting in Facebook groups, on Twitter and here on my blog. I also watch many many YouTube videos, particularly Adele Toomey’s Inkie Quill channel.

I am lucky enough to have a craft room. My husband converted our dining room and I think it’s wonderful. Not many husbands would put up with having a pink room full of paper and stickers in their house, let alone build it from scratch!

I’m a complete American Crafts fangirl: I love American Crafts. The quality is always brilliant, the tools are so reliable and the range of products and styles is great.

And Thickers…who doesn’t love thickers?!

SAM_3623
Like For Ever October Scrapbooking Kit ‘Hello Beautiful’.

I am a subscriber for a monthly scrapbooking kit by UK based company Like For Ever. It is a fabulous way of not only receiving regular scrapbook goodies, but also of ‘meeting’ new people and being part of a wider scrapbooking community.

I love to scrapbook about everything, big moments, little moments, happy moments, sad moments…..all moments!

I always have my camera to hand and love to capture people, scenery, objects, again pretty much everything. I don’t want these photos to sit unloved in harddrives and online storage devices, I want to print them out and enjoy them. If that moment moved me to take a photo of it, then it is worth documenting. To that end, in my scrapbooks you will find everything! I don’t believe there is such a thing as a bad photo.

My pages always include journalling, even if it just details of the date, occasion and who is in the photo. In the main though, there will usually be a handwritten paragraph of my thoughts and feelings from the time the photo was taken or in reflection.

SAM_3519
Layout using the ‘True Stories’ collection by Shimelle Laine for American Crafts.

I guess I’ve always been a scrapbooker. I used to cut pictures out of magazines and stick them into folders. I’ve always loved stationary, I can’t walk past pretty notebooks or fluffy pens without feeling the lure of making a purchase. When I found crafting products I was a gonner!

I’ve always taken an enormous amount of photos. I just didn’t realise that there was a whole hobby devoted to making decorated books out of them. I started scrapbooking as I know it now in January 2011, after receiving some scrapbooking goodies for christmas from my husband….You see he only has himself to blame for it!

I am a craft supply shopaholic. (Aren’t all crafters?!)

Everytime Crate Paper release a new collection my bank balance suffers!! (If you are reading this dear husband, that statement is pure coincidence!)

I hope you have enjoyed reading my scrapbook story, I have enjoyed writing it.

Love and crafty cuddles,

Scrapbook Bex.

2 thoughts on “My Scrapbooking Story

Leave a Reply

