Double Sided Paper, Double Sided Layout?

All scrappers will face this conundrum at some point:

Double sided paper.

Fabulous A side, fabulous B side. Sometimes we hoard that piece of paper for months, not being able to choose which side to use.

The gorgeous 'A' sides of Maggie Holmes' new Shine Collection.
The gorgeous ‘A’ sides of Maggie Holmes’ new Shine Collection.

See what I mean? I look at those wonderful papers and instantly have ideas. Then look on the reverse and pause. Maybe this side would be better?

The equally beautiful 'B' sides of Maggie Holmes' Shine collection.
The equally beautiful ‘B’ sides of Maggie Holmes’ Shine collection.

I regularly can’t decide. I often hear other crafters saying the same. On YouTube haul videos and blogs I hear those hard decisions being made all the time.

Have you ever considered using both sides? I’m not talking buying another sheet here, I’m talking about scrapping on both sides of the same sheet.

As long as you plan each layout and the placement of each element then this is completely doable.

I mean it!

Elements like brads and stapling need to be taken into consideration, if  you plan to use them. But these can still be carefully covered over by a cluster on the other side.

I had this conundrum recently when using the Wonder collection from Crate Paper. A lovely sheet of garlands and a lovely sheet of pink on the opposite side.

“Oh Crate, why did you do this to me!”

I didn’t want to cut into the sheet, to me both of them suited being a full background sheet by themselves. So eventually I decided to scrap on both sides. I think it worked out quite well and I will be doing it again.

The 'A' side.
The ‘A’ side.
The 'B' side.
The ‘B’ side.

You really can’t tell that there’s a layout on each side of the paper. I’ve stamped, glued, used mists and the like and it has not harmed the opposite layout.

There are some benefits to doing this. You don’t have to buy another sheet, leaving you spare cash to perhaps get another paper from the collection. You may not believe this, but it is actually lighter in your album and takes up less bulk.

The completed layouts are surprising lightweight, making your albums weigh less!
The completed layouts are surprising lightweight, making your albums less bulky! This is the profile of my two layouts!

When sticking down items like enamel dots, or anything 3D, you may want to consider putting those on last so that you can work flat on the other side.

Put 3D elements on the layout last so that you can work flat on the other side too.
Put 3D elements on the layout last so that you can work flat on the other side too.
Placing heavier elements like wooden words has not affected the other side.
Placing heavier elements like wooden words has not affected the other side. Neither has the misting and stamping.

SAM_3524

I hope you consider this method next time you have this scrappers dilemma!

Love and crafty cuddles,

Scrapbook Bex.

2 thoughts on “Double Sided Paper, Double Sided Layout?

Leave a Reply

