Scrapbook Your Story!

“How did you and Daddy decide to get married?”

A simple question from my son, that most married parents will get asked at some point or other.

So?

Those of us who got engaged in an age where the ‘selfie’ wasn’t the norm, aren’t likely to have the event documented for all to see on social media. (Although it was 2006, we were just a little late to the party!!) If I got engaged today, I would have a dozen selfies, photos of what we did, ate, drank, the decor in the room, every last detail.

But in those days with my film camera I didn’t. I have 8 photos from a whole weekend away my partner  had planned. We went to Stamford in Lincolnshire. We stayed in a b&b, visited Burleigh House and got engaged in a fabulous pub called ‘The George’.

Showing my son a photo of an old church, me in a nice dress and a photo of me at a dining table say absolutely nothing of the time that we had.

But when my son asked that question last Thursday, I was able to go and pick up a mini scrapbook album that I had made several years ago. He was able to see the pictures along with my hand-written stories of what was happening, both in the picture and on that part of the holiday.

My 'Stamford Memories' album I made a few years ago.
My ‘Stamford Memories’ album I made a few years ago.

These old photos that have negatives to back them up, not megabytes, that sometimes have fingers sometimes covering the lens, that could easily have the story behind them forgotten, are now fully documented. These stories are part of his heritage. Long after I’m gone, my great grandkids will know the story of how they came to be.

That makes me feel great!

Here rather than just a photo of an engagement ring, I have been able to tell the story behind it.
Here, rather than just a photo of an engagement ring, I have been able to tell the story behind it.

Remember: Scrapbooking is a fabulous way to get creative, but also a way to preserve your family history for generations to come.

Love and crafty cuddles,

Scrapbook Bex.

Leave a Reply

